I Regret Reporting My Rape To The Police

Thought Catalog

Rape. It’s what little girls’ nightmares are made of, a fear that every woman harbors, the ultimate loss of control, terror realized. But what if what happens after the rape, the offenses that are committed by the people that are supposed to protect you, what do you do if they are worse than the rape?

That is exactly what happened to me.

That night, the night the doorbell rang, and I opened the door. The night that stranger guy pushed his way into my house. The night I was raped. It all happened so fast and at the same time, it unfolded in sickening slow motion.

I wish I could say that was the worst part, but what happened after that takes violation to a whole new level.

On a very basic level, I get that rapists are bad and rape is bad. What I don’t get, what my brain…

View original post 1,406 more words

By Yisheng Qingwa